ugh, feelings

It’s almost the end of the quarter. Winter turned out to be a lot more fulfilling and meaningful than I hoped.

Aside from the weather, which has become a lot more of a metaphor than anything else to be honest, the quarter was packed with friendships strengthened, experiences encountered and ambitions fulfilled.

Let’s start with the beginning. I walked into the quarter having completed #77breaths and coming back from Europe with two of my best friends. I was looking for something when I went to Europe ; I was looking for the person I thought I was before I came to college. College broke me slightly – I was shocked by how much I underestimated the age gap and at the same time I was disappointed by the bubble that people seemed to be trapped in. I had campaigned against the bubble when I was in Singapore, and here I was slowly seeing myself being trapped in it. I had decided to be a slightly different person coming into college, but after Europe I realised I was comfortable with the person I always was.

With #77breaths under my belt, I knew again the value of grit. I came back, ready to make some big moves. I continued in the same spirit – not a single weekend was left unscathed by some event or another. I was enjoying the process of meeting my newly made brothers in Lambda Chi Alpha and eventually ran for the position of Vice-President (External) with the value of my experience and my earnestness to help the house. When I was elected , the affirmation of who I was continued to manifest in the reception I got. Aside from rapidly expanding my social circles and experiences, the house has definitely given me an important platform from which I wish to do more in my life.

I struggled initially with taking five courses to meet EDB’s requirement for me to graduate in 3 years but I got on track again once I started figuring out the tricks of the trade. With the help of my friends and faculty I was able to quickly navigate the school and make use of its resources while again expanding my social depth in the school.

Probably the most significant thing of the quarter has to be the pure variety of experiences. From going to Dayton, Ohio for a triathlon to planning one of the country’s largest student run festivals to purely hanging out with friends from all kinds of backgrounds ; I never had a week without the feeling of exhilaration. #77breaths had spoiled me – I wasn’t going to settle for the mediocre.

And that taught me to shave off the mediocre from my life. Anything or anyone that did not seem to add to the person I wanted to become or to the world as a whole, were quickly reconciled and kept away. Be nice, do what needs to be done, but do not subject yourself to unnecessary mediocrity.

I discovered love in all its forms – from family, friends, and the weirdos who care about me more than it makes sense.

The quarter isn’t nearly done – there’s Dance Marathon , a few other Fraternity events, elections for NUSAF (the Singapore Association) , and so many more meetups. Of course Finals as well, but we’ll get through that. I’m already planning for Spring Quarter and I’ve filled up half my weekends already.

Do I miss home? Yes, dearly. My family especially. But I’m learning to live, and I’m glad my family and friends are able to be a part of that through social media. I’ll come back, I say. Till my last breath, I won’t forget you all; the ones who made my life magnificent.

I’m eating giants for breakfast.

geronimo.

Leave a Reply

