13 ways to be awesome; and a confession

I’ll start with the quotes.

In this world, hopefully you’ve come to realise by now, exists a myriad of people. It’s difficult to reduce them , but there does exist a spectrum of good and bad. There are some truly abhorrent people, and we must learn to love them, and then there are some truly awesome people and we must learn to emulate them. People do hurt, people do kill ; but people also inspire and people also lead.

I’ve striven to achieve some form of personal success in understanding what it takes to live a fulfilling life – whether it be through religion, personal definition or even absolution.Through a mix of adventure living (living in the now) and consistent reflection , I’ve been able to slowly piece together eternal truths . It’s that process of discovery that has led me to appreciate the salient wisdom shared by some of the greatest minds around. Here are some of my favorite quotes.

“Above all, I have been a sentient being, a thinking animal, on this beautiful planet, and that in itself has been an enormous privilege and adventure.”

– Oliver Sacks.

Oliver Sacks is a dying man, yet he seems to understand so much about more life than anyone else

 

Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are.

–  Niccolò Machiavelli, The Prince

The truth is, that while The Prince is highly controversial, it understands the human nature. The key to navigating social environments is to reveal just enough to build trust, but to guard your heart always.

Play with 5 cards, keep 10 under your sleeve.

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.”
– Aristotle

If you think about it, love has been one of the most eternal concepts known to man, probably after life and death. Even Aristotle struggled to understand it. I think I don’t fully understand love yet, but I definitely am letting myself be hurt a lot more just so that I can find how it originates, how it develops and how it consummates. I don’t mind rejection, I’ve been rejected a lot more in my lifetime – but I can’t deal with not trying. Love is what keeps the world together – it is what drives the inner insanity of the human soul.

 

“My life is my message”

– Mahatma Gandhi

Why do we watch movies, read books and follow celebrities? We’re deeply enthralled by the stories that are central to them. In the same way, if we were  to pass, we have to tell a story too. It doesn’t have to be a perfect story , it can be full of mistakes and funny incidents , but did you tell a story at all? Did you live a message? What are you alive for?

“Mistakes are the portal of discovery”

– James Joyce.

Simple : I believe in risk and reward. There are treasures about yourself and the world waiting to be discovered only by those who decided to risk making a mistake and do. Doers will always move forward. Dreamers never die, your mistake may cost you an arm and a leg, but the world will be your after.

____

 

geronimo.

 

Leave a Reply

