bouts of insanity – my thanksgiving post of the year – part 1

we all have our bouts of insanity. but i’ve found out in the span of the year that the capacity for wild , unthinkable moments increase with your willingness to discover and dream. 2013 was by far the best year of my life thus far.

i started a few big projects, i made a lot of new friends and my social circles shifted, and i gained a lot of exposure and experiences.

if i was to recap the year in bullets it would be like this :

  • Get posted into New Unit
  • Start The Hidden Good
  • Get Promoted
  • Go on CNA as an Expert for the first time
  • Visit my Grandparents and Relatives in India
  • Organise Singapore’s first ever Official MP3 Experiment
  • Hang out with the YouTubers
  • Hang out with the Community of Causes
  • Participate in NDP
  • Became a Platoon Sergeant
  • Go on a TimeMarch in Malaysia
  • ORD
  • Ran a Marathon
  • Transitioning out of Ministry Head Position
  • Go to the US with my Family

There was probably a lot more in between, including all the videos I created, all the events I spoke at and even the nights spent chilling with friends – but there’s no way I could remember everything. That’s why I found it incredibly important to snap pictures as and when I could. When you know you’re moving too fast , even for yourself, you capture enough memories to look back at when you’re slowing down.

I’m a bit of a weirdo when it comes to commitment. My mom scolded me before because I never stuck at anything longer than a few months. That’s true – when I’m not interested in something or someone, I can’t help but show it. I’m disappointingly rude like that (I’m trying to work with it) – but I move on very quickly. However, when I do find something I believe in, or someone I decide to trust, I’m fiercely loyal. My friends know that they grow with me , my bros know that I’m always the same despite the pace I’m pushing in the day. It’s really how I keep the core strong while strengthening the outer parts of my lifestyle.

When all is said I done, the lessons I learnt above matter ass much as the friends and people I learnt it from. So here’s the thanksgiving post – the one where I tell everyone how much they’ve impacted me, how much I love them, and where I eventually get scolded by the dear friends that escape my memory for not having them in.

That being said – a good majority of the year was spent in NS and I’ve written a post for those involved – here they are

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

This is for the rest

___

of course, we have the customaries. and it’s good that they’re customary, because that means year after year they still rank the most important influences in my life.

God, for being so faithful. For always loving me despite my flaws, for teaching me, for guiding me, for growing me. For his providence ( sometimes I wonder how I still have money in the bank), and his blessing.

My Family for their support – for letting me be when I needed to be the lone wold , and for welcoming me back everytime I ended up drained or overwhelmed. For fighting with me so that I’ll remain humble, for encouraging me so that I’ll climb them mountains. My Mom for crying so much over me, my Dad for crossing valleys to enable me, my Brother for being there any time, my Sister for reminding me about the innocence of childhood.

My Closest Buds –

Imran – for being the bro who gives a damn. You give so much a damn, it hurts. Every year, I say the same thing and I stand by it. I’m glad we’re still solid after so many years – after all the wacky adventures we’ve had, we  probably are bound to build a lot more. You’re right though – I need to slow down. I will.

Ding Hao – Token Indian friend (You’re my token Sentosa friend) or not, this broship is something I won’t give up for anything. I  love how we have enough common love over craft beers, good music, games, ideas and philosophy that we don’t have a lack of stuff to talk about. And I’m excited that we’re both going to the US next year.

Gabriel –  We didn’t hang out as much as I would have liked to this year, but that’s because you’re a BMT spec. And I’m glad you got your ass out of being a storeman and dared to become a spec . I’ve always loved catching up with you, Shi Feng, Wendi, Brenda (who’s like AWOL now) – let’s do more of this

___

My Partners in Crime, Hoodies and CoC buds,

Leon –  There’s no reason why you’re not a true blue bro after all we’ve been through. We created something magical , we’re leaving a legacy next year, and after all the ups and downs, the twists and turns, the smiles and stampedes we have a brand that is versatile, strong and powerful in impacting thousands. If we weren’t so yin-and-yang , this probably wouldn’t work, but we are and that makes a difference. Thanks for putting up with me – very few can. To know that I’m going to work with you in EDB , that’s a very empowering thought – let’s rock that place. The Honesty Pact always stands

Valerie –  You know you can click with someone when conversations just roll off the moment you meet. I’ve told you how inspired I was by PHS, and I was such a fanboy when we met. I’m glad you taught us what you knew – we’ve grown so much because of that. And I’ve found a dear friend in you – even though it’s super hard to hang out.

The Hidden Good team – Darren (thanks for being so damn committed, it’s contagious) , Jay (for helping us establish the basics when we set up – it was a sad moment when we realised you’re leaving) , Alvin ( again, for the great initial and continuous mentorship ), Ryan (for helping us set up) Jon, Joon Sin (part of the initial J-Crew, it was fun with the gang), Matthew, Jethro, Vishnu, Aiysh, Bella (the RJ Gang for being so amazingly brilliant in all the ways you were ) , Yihui (for leading the charge on the MP3 Experiment with us, you’re a powerful woman meant for big things. Don’t ever take anything less) , Shyen  (I’m glad I convinced you to join us, loved having you on board ), Lavanya, Viren, Nicole Kuek, Ada, David, Jia Lok, Shane, Chang Yen , Noel , Pixel Rife,  for helping us make The MP3 Experiment a reality, Ethan, Shawn, Zhen Jie, Shiuan, Luke, Chuni, Yohann  for always being willing to come down when we need more hands on deck. We appreciate the extra support.  Boon – SO MUCH because you’re so cool and indispensable. I’m glad I have you on our team.

And of course we have the next-gen team, who are going to help make next year even more powerful . Elyssa, Frank, Nick, Chloe , Jonas, Steph – who just joined us and have much to promise!

Shiaw – Yan , such  a bro. I would say I’m indebted to you but I know you do what you do cause you truly care about the people around you, and I want to appreciate you publicly for being an awesome human being. Thanks for watching out for us all the way man – and helping us when we’re in the ruckus, and celebrating with us when we’re in the highs.

Josiah, Adrian, Ashton, Arjun, Victoria, Chloe, Kenneth, Joseph, Hongxi, Audrey , Jerviel, Kim, Jin Zhi, Rifeng, Xiu Jing, – Thanks for caring about what you guys care about and being such inspirations for me. WE NEED TO MEET SOON DAMMIT.

My mentors –

Jeff –  i love our small chats. there’s so much transference of perspective, I look forward to the next one. I speak of you when I imagine who I want to be when I’m 40 , honestly. Powerful man, doing small things that make big change. I’m glad we crossed paths

Jeremy – so much spontaneity. Move fast, break things. I’ve taken some of that into my own life. We need to catch up soon, but thanks for teaching me life as a rebel can be worth it. Thanks for teaching me that things can be done if you put your mind to it

Pong – Man, oh man. Pong, you’re always exciting to talk to. Spiritually, I learn so much when I see you humbling yourself before Christ, I realise I have a long way to go before being truly a servant of God – but I wanna get there more. You’re a true coach, an enabler, and I must thank you so much for capturing my strengths and teaching me how to leverage off them. I’m excited to work together.

Shi-Mei –  thanks so much for mentoring me spiritually. being a ministry head can become tiring, but knowing you have someone walking through it with you (with God of course)  is a powerful thought. thanks for always caring – it’s exhausting to do it, but you always do. we all love you for it.

Louise –  When I first heard about you, I remember telling Cass to put me in touch. I wanted to learn so much – I was very impressed by the fact that you had two cafes under your belt. After meeting you, I don’t think I’m surprised anymore – it’s who you are. And to be under your mentorship means I can learn where I can reach and how to operate an enterprise efficiently and still achieve all that we set out to achieve.

___

OC

OC has somehow continued to remain a big force in my life. It’s where I have many core friends as well

Cass –  my favourite big sister. I refuse to call you Grandma – it’s just weird. I’m always grateful to tompang your car cause I get to spend more time with you and just chat about all kinds of stuff. It’s because you’re so open to people that you’d make a great person in life. I rushed over the moment I could with my car to drive you around.

Ivfy –  You have a big job ahead of you, but a bigger God behind you. That’s the best advice I can give you. I have complete trust in you to take over the helm of OPEC and run it with full gusto and vision. I’ve seen you work and I know you have a heart of passion, and care about the people you work with. That’s what is needed now and you fit the bill! I’m always here for any advice so don’t worry!

Pastor Kay, Pastor Ling –  I’m a pretty irritating person when it comes to being a schoolboy Christian, but I thank God that I have the pastoral advice from you. Good luck Pastor Kay on your future endeavours! And Pastor Ling, thanks for being patient with me with my questions! I hope to grow !

My BS Group – Benji, Ernest, Elliot, Ivfen, Anton, Ade, Chuni, Keith, Guin, Steph, Ben, Cheryl, Muzay, Jer, Tingyi, Shyen , Matt Chim and everyone else for being such a strong support group for me and for helping me grow.

OPEC – Jon, Matt, Marissa, Micah,Jil, Steph, Nathan, Charles, Chaunce, Jason, Darryl –  for being an awesome ministry. Our job is a tough one – you guys are tougher.

The rest of OC of course – Luke, Darolyn, Emae, Justin, David, Celine, Laura, Sylvia, Joey, Chrystal, Justin, Kakit – OMG ALL OF YOU – for being a great community to keep coming back to. I’m gonna miss you guys when I go to us.

i didn’t think I’d need to split up my posts but it’s gotten pretty massive thus far.

i’m gonna write part 2 tomorrow – YouTubers, Facebook Friends, Partners and Synergisers, and good old people who have shaped my year.

till then,

geronimo

One thought on “bouts of insanity – my thanksgiving post of the year – part 1

  1. to die is to live – my thanksgiving post of the year (part 2) – Love, Dream, Imagine

Leave a Reply

